Harbour -> XSharp migration: function calls/returns

This forum is meant for questions and discussions about the X# language and tools
RolWil

Post by RolWil »

Hi all,

X# newbie here.

I’d like to migrate a very large Harbour application (which had a prior life in Clipper) to XSharp for a client who has been using it for 25+ years. It’s pretty much still standard Clipper code.

I’ve just started to experiment with X#; It appears that most folks are migrating from either VO or VFP though so I’m not finding much help on the subject. In order to make this feasible for my client, I need to minimize code re-write other than the presentation layer. Most of the business logic is in a number of function libraries, the system was written quite modular for its time.

One of my first tests involves a simple call to a function with a return value:

bValue := AnyFunc()
return
function AnyFunc()

return(.t.)

This works in Harbour.

However, in XSharp, I get error “XS1031 Type expected” unless I code the function as

function AnyFunc() as boolean

Do I have to re-write hundreds of functions or is there a setting in ‘Language’ or ‘Dialect’ I should be setting.

Thanks.
wriedmann

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Roland,
you may need more options, but to compile code with undefined variables you need at least the dialect Harbour and the options /lb (allow late bound calls), /memvar (support memvar, public, private) and /undeclared (support undeclared variables).
Then this code compiles:

Code: Select all

function Start( ) as void
	System.Console.WriteLine("Hello x#!")

bValue := AnyFunc()

return

function AnyFunc()

return(.t.)
05-04-2023_07-27-48.png
05-04-2023_07-27-48.png (35.92 KiB) Viewed 580 times
Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
wriedmann

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Roland,