Error at runtime

This forum is meant for questions and discussions about the X# language and tools
stecosta66
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Error at runtime

Post by stecosta66 »

Hi all,
I've a small VO program that is used to update DBF structure e rebuild CDXs from scratch of my main app.
Now, I've xPorted this small app, then imported in VS2019. It is pure VO code, no external libraries.
It builds fine with no errors but at runtime I'm getting this:

'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: DefaultDomain): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_32mscorlibv4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089mscorlib.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: DefaultDomain): Loaded 'C:XporterOutputDebugMakeUpd3.exe'. Symbols loaded.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILXSharp.RTv4.0_2.6.0.0__ed555a0467764586XSharp.RT.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILXSharp.Corev4.0_2.6.0.0__ed555a0467764586XSharp.Core.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_32VOGUIClassesv4.0_2.6.0.0__a967d8055360a7b9VOGUIClasses.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILXSharp.VOv4.0_2.6.0.0__ed555a0467764586XSharp.VO.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILVORDDClassesv4.0_2.6.0.0__a967d8055360a7b9VORDDClasses.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILVOSystemClassesv4.0_2.6.0.0__a967d8055360a7b9VOSystemClasses.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_32VOWin32APILibraryv4.0_2.6.0.0__a967d8055360a7b9VOWin32APILibrary.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
Step into: Stepping over non-user code '$AppInit'
Step into: Stepping over non-user code 'MakeUpd3.Exe.Functions.$Init1'
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILSystem.Corev4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089System.Core.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILSystemv4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089System.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
'MakeUpd3.exe' (CLR v4.0.30319: MakeUpd3.exe): Loaded 'C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NetassemblyGAC_MSILXSharp.Rddv4.0_2.6.0.0__ed555a0467764586XSharp.Rdd.dll'. Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.
The program '[10936] MakeUpd3.exe' has exited with code -1 (0xffffffff).

There is something that I can do?
Thanks

Stefano
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 4599
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:48 am
Location: Greece

Error at runtime

Post by Chris »

Hi Stefano,

Have you tried debugging the app? Did you get any more descriptive error messages?
Can you zip and send me the full project/solution to have a look?
Chris Pyrgas

XSharp Development Team test
chris(at)xsharp.eu
stecosta66
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Error at runtime

Post by stecosta66 »

Chris wrote:Hi Stefano,

Have you tried debugging the app? Did you get any more descriptive error messages?
Can you zip and send me the full project/solution to have a look?
Hi Chris

I'm FOX subscriber and I'm using Xsharp 2.8b lastest build with VS2019 community edition ver 16.10.3

I've debugged the app and the error raises in the method EndDialog()

I've commented all the code lines in main method PBOk() leaving out only the SELF:EndDialog()

I've attached the full solution as zip.

Just run the app and press OK.

Let me know if you need further info

Thanks
Stefano
Attachments
XporterOutput.zip
(3.32 MiB) Downloaded 46 times
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 4599
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:48 am
Location: Greece

Error at runtime

Post by Chris »

Hi Stefano,

Thanks for sending the app! Unfortunately I do not see the problem here though, the app just closes normally when I press OK. Aren't you getting a more descriptive error message when debugging, showing a bit more info on what happened? Maybe you can take a screenshot of the error and post it to have a look? (better please zip the image and post the image, because there's some problem with uploading images directly).
Chris Pyrgas

XSharp Development Team test
chris(at)xsharp.eu
stecosta66
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Error at runtime

Post by stecosta66 »

Hi Chris,

I'm trying this on my laptop and here the app closes normally but, after that, as soos as I hit "Stop debug" (SHIFT+F5) in VS2019 I get the same error as above.
Is this normal behaviour?
I'll try to record a small video and attach it here.

thanks
Stefano
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 4599
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:48 am
Location: Greece

Error at runtime

Post by Chris »

Hi Stefano,

Not sure, why do you need to use "Stop debug"? I did try it here as well, but I do not get an error. I suspect I have not understood exactly what is going on, so yes please, a video or at least a screenshot should be very helpful!
Chris Pyrgas

XSharp Development Team test
chris(at)xsharp.eu
stecosta66
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Error at runtime

Post by stecosta66 »

Hi Chris,

thanks for your reply.
I've tested this in XIDE and it works fine! No strange messages, just compiles and run as expected...

Later I'll try to make a small video capture of what's going on in VS 2019 and post it here.

Thanks
Stefano
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 4599
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:48 am
Location: Greece

Error at runtime

Post by Chris »

Hi Stefano,

I am sure creating a video is time consuming, but can you just please post a screenshot first? Just to help understand where the error message is shown!
Chris Pyrgas

XSharp Development Team test
chris(at)xsharp.eu
stecosta66
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Error at runtime

Post by stecosta66 »

Hi Chris

the error is shown in the output window of VS2019.

I've done a screenshot and a video capture of what's happening running my app.

you can find in the attachments

let me know if you need more info

thanks
Stefano
VideoCaptureXSharp.zip
(869.52 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-07-02 140736.jpg
Screenshot 2021-07-02 140736.jpg (46.53 KiB) Viewed 445 times
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4290
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Error at runtime

Post by robert »

Stefano,
I see no errors in the video.
Some informational messages about DLLs being loaded and about code being skipped but no exceptions.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
Post Reply