xsharp.eu • Problem in Executable, but not from IDE - Page 2
Page 2 of 2

Problem in Executable, but not from WED

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:53 am
by BiggyRat
It's called clutching at straws Karl-Heinz :P I was experimenting and left it there thinking something was being left open and causing the problem

Problem in Executable, but not from WED

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:53 am
by BiggyRat
So, what was the solution Wolfgang?

Problem in Executable, but not from WED

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:59 am
by wriedmann
Hi Jeff,
I was not able to reproduce your issue because you had too included much libraries I don't use or even have.
Removing the Report Classes don't changes anything?
Wolfgang

Problem in Executable, but not from WED

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:09 am
by BiggyRat
No Wolfgang. Made no difference at all. I'm at a total loss. Is it possible to write a Begin..End sequence to cover it?

Problem in Executable, but not from WED

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:19 am
by wriedmann
Hi Jeff,
I would add several DebOut() statements to discover where the exact point of failure is, starting the every line in the Start() method and then the called functions/methods.
Do you have tried to compile your exe with "debug" set to on? Sometimes this gives better informations about runtime errors.
Wolfgang

Problem in Executable, but not from IDE

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:25 am
by BiggyRat
Ill try tge debout method, thank you Wolfgang. As for the debugger, it is already on...

Problem in Executable, but not from IDE

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:27 am
by wriedmann
Hi Jeff,
if you are not able to find anything, as last resort I could give a look on your development PC using TeamViewer or AnyDesk.
Wolfgang

Problem in Executable, but not from IDE

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:32 pm
by Jeff Stone
I haven't tried the IDE yet, so my following suggestion may be a waste of time. However, my experience with VC is that an uninitialized variable can cause a compile program to bomb while executing the same code in a debugger exhibits no problems as the debugger automatically initializes all variable..

To find this kind of issue (and even if initialization is not the problem), I would put a bunch of messagebox() calls (messagebox("stop1"), messagebox("stop2"), messagebox("stop3")... into your compiled code. You can then narrow down the problematic code section by seeing in between which messagebox calls the code aborts. Then add more messagebox() calls in that area. Rinse and repeat.

Good luck