Page 1 of 1
Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2024 8:32 pm
by Irwin
Hi Chris,
I just realized XIDE's code editor popup is showing the classes's private fields. That is supposed to happen?
thanks.
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 12:08 am
by Chris
Hi Irwin,
If the method you are writing code in is part of this class, then it is correct, even if you are using a local to hold an instance of the class. If it's code outside the class, then it is a bug, can you please give me a sample that I can reproduce the problem?
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 8:22 am
by Irwin
Chris wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 12:08 am
Hi Irwin,
If the method you are writing code in is part of this class, then it is correct, even if you are using a local to hold an instance of the class. If it's code outside the class, then it is a bug, can you please give me a sample that I can reproduce the problem?
Hi Chris, the code shown belongs to another file outside of the class who has the private fields, in this case then they should not be shown in the popup right? Create a class with some private fields (and some publics for variety), put it in a separate namespace eg: sample.privateclass and then create another separate file including a separate namespace eg: sample.clientclass and just instanciate the class and show its fields.
If you still need my examples I will send them to you privately.
thanks.
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:29 am
by Chris
Hi Irwin,
Unfortunately I did not manage to reproduce this, so yes please send me a sample. You can also create a test new project, create an app (or is it two needed?) in it with simple test code that shows the problem and just export it and send me the .xipef (export) file.
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:34 am
by Irwin
Chris wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:29 am
Hi Irwin,
Unfortunately I did not manage to reproduce this, so yes please send me a sample. You can also create a test new project, create an app (or is it two needed?) in it with simple test code that shows the problem and just export it and send me the .xipef (export) file.
I restarted my XIDE and the issue is not happening anymore.
I think this happened because those fields were public in the beginning and I changed them to private, but XIDE did not refresh the class template or anything. That's ok.
thanks.
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:36 am
by Chris
Irwin wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:34 am
Chris wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:29 am
Hi Irwin,
Unfortunately I did not manage to reproduce this, so yes please send me a sample. You can also create a test new project, create an app (or is it two needed?) in it with simple test code that shows the problem and just export it and send me the .xipef (export) file.
I restarted my XIDE and the issue is not happening anymore.
I think this happened because those fields were public in the beginning and I changed them to private, but XIDE did not refresh the class template or anything. That's ok.
thanks.
Ah, OK, that explains it then. XIDE reads the members of the classes directly from the exe/dll files (not from the code), so after you make such a change, you need to recompile for intellisense to see them.
Re: Private fields are shown in the XIDE code editor popup
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 12:11 pm
by Irwin
Chris wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:36 am
Irwin wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:34 am
Chris wrote: ↑Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:29 am
Hi Irwin,
Unfortunately I did not manage to reproduce this, so yes please send me a sample. You can also create a test new project, create an app (or is it two needed?) in it with simple test code that shows the problem and just export it and send me the .xipef (export) file.
I restarted my XIDE and the issue is not happening anymore.
I think this happened because those fields were public in the beginning and I changed them to private, but XIDE did not refresh the class template or anything. That's ok.
thanks.
Ah, OK, that explains it then. XIDE reads the members of the classes directly from the exe/dll files (not from the code), so after you make such a change, you need to recompile for intellisense to see them.
Understood, thank you my friend!